8th Symposium of the EURopean
Association of ACarologists

Welcome to

EURAAC 8th Symposium

Universitat Politecnica de Valencia


On behalf of the European Association of Acarologists (EURAAC) and the Organizing Committee of the 8th Symposium of EURAAC I am very pleased to invite you to attend the EURAAC 2016 that will be held in Valencia, Spain, from July 11 to 15, 2016, under the theme “Mites and Ticks: from Genes to Populations”.

The Symposium will be organized by the Universidad Politécnica de Valencia (Polytechnic University of Valencia –UPV-). The Symposium venue will be the UPV Nexus building.

The Polytechnic University of Valencia (http://www.upv.es) is a public, dynamic and innovative institution dedicated to research and teaching. The UPV maintains strong bonds with its social environment and a strong presence abroad. Currently, our university community is made up of over 42.000 people. Of these, nearly 37.800 are students, 2.600 are members of the teaching and research staff and 1.700 are administrative and services personnel. UPV is composed of 10 Schools, 3 Faculties and 2 Higher Polytechnic Schools. Furthermore, the UPV includes the Ciudad Politécnica de la Innovación (Polytechnic City of Innovation –CPI-), the Science Park of the UPV. The CPI is a member of Asociación Española de Parques Científicos y Tecnológicos and the International Asssociation of Science Parks (IASP).

The Symposium will be open to every scientific aspect of mites and ticks and will have plenary and ordinary sessions, special sessions and poster display. In addition to the session topics we offer the possibility to submit and organize special sessions on more specific topics.

More detailed information will be announced in the next circular and on the web site (euraac.webs.upv.es/SympValencia/index.php)

Our meeting will be an excellent forum to establish new links and collaborations among participants. We are looking forward to your participation in Valencia in July 2016.


Francisco Ferragut
President of the European Association of Acarologists
Chairman of the Organizing Committee of the 8th Symposium of EURAAC