EURAAC Society Information
General Society Information

EURAAC was founded 1987 in Amsterdam.

The aims of EURAAC are mainly:
    • to organize meetings in Europe at regular intervals for the dissemination of knowledge among acarologists, to provide a means for personal contact among workers in this field, to provide support for instructional workshops for those wishing to specialize in this discipline,
    • to represent the views and interests of European acarologists to official bodies in scientific matters.

The structure of EURAAC: The Officers of the Association include

    • A President who serves for four years and is responsible for organizing a symposium during the fourth year,
    • A President Elect who will become president after four years,
    • A Secretary who conducts the business of the Association and maintains records of membership,
    • A Treasurer who is responsible for all funds;
    • The Executive Committee consisting of the Officers and five other members.

The Presidents of EURAAC:

    •1987-1988 Reinhard Schuster, Graz

    •1988-1992 Danuta Kropczynska, Warsaw

    •1992-1996 Maurice Sabelis, Amsterdam

    •1996-2000 Fabio Bernini, Siena

    •2000-2004 Gerd Weigmann, Berlin

    •2004-2008 Michel Bertrand, Montpellier

    •2008-2012 Peter Schausberger, Wien

    •2012-2016 Francisco Ferragut, Valencia

Membership is open to any person engaged in or interested in acarology. Organisations may have institutional memberships for the purpose of obtaining the Association's publications. Students and retired persons may pay a reduced subscription.

Finance: The Association is financed principally from Members' subscriptions. Euraac supports the publication of symposium volumes and will financially support young acarologists to follow courses or attend meetings, if they do not have sufficient funds from their own or other sources. EURAAC will also supply funds for colleagues from low budget and developing countries for the payment of registration fees for EURAAC symposia.

The main activities are the symposia organized every 4 years - to date:

•The 1st Symposium was held in Graz (Austria) in 1988, published in:
The Acari: reproduction, development and life-history strategies (ed. Schuster, R. & Murphy, P.W.) Pp. 554. Chapman & Hall, London. 1991.

•The 2nd Symposium was held in Krynica (Poland) 1992, published in:
The Acari: physiological and ecological aspects of Acari-host relationships. (ed. Kropczynska, D.; Boczek, J. & Tomczyk, A.) Pp. 698. Dabor, Warsaw. 1995.

•The 3rd Symposium was held in Amsterdam (Netherlands) 1996, published in:
Ecology and Evolution of the Acari (ed. Bruin, J.; van der Geest, L.P.S. & Sabelis, M.W.) Pp.677. Kluwer Acad. Publ., Dordrecht. 1999.

•The 4th Symposium was held in Siena (Italy) 2000, published in:
Acarid Phylogeny and Evolution. Adaptations in Mites and Ticks (ed. Bernini, F.; Nannelli, R.; Nuzzaci, G & de Lillo, E.) Pp.472. Kluwer Acad. Publ., Dordrecht. 2002.

•The 5th Symposium was held in Berlin (Germany), 2004, published in:
Acarine Biodiversity in the Natural and Human Sphere (ed. Weigmann, G.; Alberti, G.; Wohltmann A. & Ragusa, S.) Pp.765. Phytophaga XIV. 2004 (2005).

•The 6th Symposium was held in Montpellier (France), 2008, published in:
Integrative Acarology (ed. Bertrand M., Kreiter S., McCoy K.D., Migeon A., Navajas M., Tixier M.-S. & Vial L.) Pp 492. Euraac 2008

•The 7th Symposium was held in Wien (Austria) in 2012, published in: Acari in a Changing World (ed. P. Schausberger) Acarologia 53 (2): 125-232.

•The 8th Symposium is planned in Valencia (Spain) in 2016.

© 1987-2016 EURAAC. All rights reserved.